top of page
  • Writer's pictureOnega Inspection Services, LLC

What are HERS Ratings?

Updated: Dec 18, 2023

If you are looking for ways to improve the energy efficiency and comfort of your new home, you may consider getting a HERS rating. HERS stands for Home Energy Rating System, and it is a standardized method of measuring and comparing the energy performance of different homes. A HERS rating is done by a certified RESNET professional who conducts a series of tests and inspections on your home, such as a blower door test and an energy modeling. A blower door test measures how much air leaks in and out of your home, while an energy modeling simulates how your home uses energy based on its design, orientation, insulation, appliances, lighting and other factors. The results of these tests are used to calculate your home's HERS index, which is a score that ranges from 0 to 150. The lower the score, the more energy efficient your home is. A typical existing home in the U.S. has a HERS index of about 140, while a standard new home has a score of about 100. A net zero energy home, which produces as much energy as it consumes, has a score of 0.

HERS Index
The HERS Index

Why should you get a HERS rating for your home? There are many benefits to having a HERS rating in CT, such as:

- You can identify the areas where your home is losing energy and money, and get recommendations on how to fix them.

- You can qualify for rebates, incentives and tax credits from utility companies, state and federal programs that reward energy efficiency improvements.

- You can increase the value and marketability of your home, as more buyers are looking for homes with lower energy costs and environmental impact.

- You can reduce your carbon foot print and contribute to a cleaner and healthier environment.

If you live in Connecticut or Rhode Island, you have access to some of the best HERS rating services in the country. Both states have adopted the latest version of the International Energy Conservation Code (IECC), which sets the minimum standards for energy efficiency in new construction and major renovations. The IECC requires that all new homes have a HERS rating done by an accredited rater and that they meet or exceed a certain HERS index threshold. For example, in Connecticut, the maximum HERS index allowed for new homes is 55 for climate zone 5 and 54 for climate zone 4. In Rhode Island, the maximum HERS index allowed for new homes is 51 for climate zone 5A and 50 for climate zone 5B. These are some of the most stringent requirements in the nation, and they ensure that new homes in these states are built to high standards of energy efficiency and comfort.

If you are interested in getting a HERS rating for your home in CT, you can find a list of certified raters on the websites of RESNET (Residential Energy Services Network), which is the national organization that oversees the HERS rating system, or on the websites of local organizations such as Energize Connecticut. These raters have undergone rigorous training and testing to ensure that they provide accurate and reliable ratings for your home. They can also help you with applying for any rebates or incentives that you may be eligible for based on your CT HERS rating.

A HERS rating is one of the best investments you can make for your home. It can help you save money on your energy bills, increase your home's value and comfort, and reduce your environmental impact. Please contact Onega Inspection Services a certified HERS rater today and find out how you can get started with a HERS rating for your home.



bottom of page